Elli Medeiros

Elli Medeiros was born in Montevideo, Uruguay. Her first part, at age 4, was Madame Butterfly's son, in the production of Puccini's opera at the Montevideo Opera. This was Orson Welles' first role, at the same age! Elli's father, José Luis Medeiros, vanished from her life when she was five.

When she was fourteen, her mother & step father moved to Paris, and she had to learn french in a couple of months so she could attend high school. She tried several schools, including an art schoot, l'Ecole des Arts Appliquées, but dropped out before getting a "baccalauréat" to start her first band, the Stinky Toys, the first french punk band, playing several London punk Festivals along with the Clash & the Sex Pistols. Elli appeared on the cover of Melody Maker & that convinced the until then extremely reluctant french record companies, to sign them a deal. After two albums, the Stinky Toys split and Elli and Stinky Toy Jacno then released several albums as the techno pop duo Elli & Jacno. Their last was Les Nuits de la Pleine Lune, score to Eric Rohmer 's movie. Elli then went solo, her music becoming more personal, more latin and had several hits in France, including Toi Mon Toit and A bailar Calypso, mega hits of 1986 and 1987, now standards.

After a break, Elli decided to go back to acting & school, & worked with Andreas Voutsinas, who was Lee Strasberg's assistant for twenty years and created the Paris "Actor's Studio", le Théatre des Cinquante. She also took classes with Madeleine Barchevska and Bob Mc Andrew.

Elli Medeiros

Elli Medeiros est né en Uruguay à Montevideo. Elle monte pour la première fois sur les planches, à l’âge de 4 ans, et joue le rôle du fils de Madame Butterfly, dans une production de l’opéra de Pucini, à l’Opéra de Montevideo. C’était le premier rôle d’Orson Welles au même âge! Le père d’Elli, José Luis Medeiros, a disparu de sa vie lorsqu’elle avait 5 ans.

A quatorze ans, sa mère et son beau-père déménagent à Paris et elle doit apprendre le français en quelques mois pour pouvoir être scolarisée. Après avoir essayé plusieurs écoles dont l’Ecole des Arts Appliqués, elle abandonne avant d’obtenir son bac pour se consacrer à son premier groupe, The Stinky Toys, le premier groupe punk français. Elle se produit dans plusieurs festivals punk à Londres aux côtés de The Clash et des Sex Pistols. Elli apparaît sur la couverture de Melody Maker, ce qui permet de convaincre les maisons de disques françaises, jusque là réticentes, de signer le groupe. Après deux albums les Stinky Toys se séparent. Elli forme ensuite avec Jacno des Stinky Toys le duo techno pop Elli & Jacno et ils sortent plusieurs albums. Elli poursuit ensuite sa carrière en solo, sa musique évoluant vers quelque chose de plus personnel et plus latin. Elle sort plusieurs singles dont les méga hits de 1986 et 1987, Toi mon Toit et A Bailar Calypso, devenus à présent des classiques.

Après une pause, Elli décide de retourner à l’école suivre des cours de théâtre avec Andreas Voutsinas, l’assistant de Lee Strasberg pendant vingt ans puis fondateur de l’Actor’s Studio de Paris et du Théâtre des Cinquante. Elle prend aussi des cours avec Madeleine Barchevska et Bob Mc Andrew.